Winter Sports Awards

Five members of the Men’s and Women’s Basketball teams received All North Region honors for their effort on the basketball court, while three more student-athletes were recognized for their hard work in the class room.

Men’s Basketball won the North Region Title and swept all three major North Region awards. Dana Abe was named the North Region Most valuable Player after leading the league with 21.6 points per game. Abe also finished in the top 5 of the Region in rebounding and 3 point percentage.

Abdul Mohamed was named the Defensive Player of the Year after leading Shoreline to the best defense in the NWAC. The Phins lead the entire NWAC in opponents field goal percentage, opponents 3 point field goal percentage and opponents points per possession. Mohamed finished 3rd in the North Region in steals and was tasked with defending the best perimeter threat from each opponent.

Anddrew Hawkins was also recognized by the North Region coaches receiving All North Region Second Team honors. Hawkins’ influence on a basketball game can be found all over the stat sheet. He is the second leading scorer for the Phins with 12.5 points per game, second in assists with 3 per game and second in rebounds with 6 per game.

Head Coach Donald Brady was named the Coach of the Year for the North Region. Brady took over the Men’s Basketball program after the 2013-14 season in which Shoreline had a 2-12 North Region record. In his first two seasons Brady led the Phins to improved win totals but each season fell one win short of the NWAC Tournament. The 2016-17 season marked a major step in turning around the Men’s Basketball program as the Phins finished the regular season with a 17-8 overall record and a 10-4 record in the North Region.

Women’s Basketball star Enjunay Jones-Lee was named to the All North Region 1st Team. Jones-Lee was 4th in the Region with 19 points per game. Jones-Lee led the entire NWAC shooting 87% from the Free Throw line while finishing 4th in Free Throws made. Sophomore Point Guard Dani Hayes was honored on the All Defensive Team. Hayes averaged 2.64 steals on the season as she defended the opposition’s primary ball handler.

Enjunay Jones-Lee turned up on another awards list for her stellar work in the classroom. Jones-Lee and Men’s Basketball players Brady Anderson and Joe Ghebrehiwot were named to the NWAC All-Academic team. All three student-athletes have been committed in the classroom during their time at Shoreline and all three maintain a GPA above 3.5.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: